THE BEEKMAN HOTEL, BATTERY PARK
Once known as Temple Court, this Eclectic-style individual landmark built in 1883, was originally used as an office building. Unfortunate alterations throughout the years, by previous owners and tenants removed historic fabric, including all storefronts and entries, and shrouded the unique and stunning interior atrium. After a long awaited extensive restoration inside and out, it is now repurposed for hotel and residential use; making it once again a grand architectural showpiece and an iconic destination in lower Manhattan.
"When faced with restoring the completely missing capitals on the two front entranceway columns we turned to Opus. Having collaborated many times with Ms. Quartin before, we knew we were in great hands. This was a very challenging task considering there were no existing pieces and only one archival black and white photograph for reference. Ms. Quartin and her team expertly executed an exact replica of the over 100-year-old exterior focal point of the Landmarked building with impeccable skill and quality. Thanks to Opus’s work, The Beekman’s architectural integrity remain for many future generations to see.”
- Jeff Smith, Smith Restoration
The sole archival photograph to capture these decorative capitals on the columns of the front facade that Opus used as reference for their work.
The severe conditions of the building at the beginning of the restoration project. No existing decorative pieces of the capital were present to work off of.
Using nondrying clay, Opus began to sculpt the decorative capital by hand, while referencing the one archival photograph.
Completed clay sculpture of capital in 1/4" scale with the exact design and proportions of the original.
Opus’s 1/4" scale model clay sculpture was digitally scanned, three dimensionally printed into full scale and then cast out of granite for the final product.
Completely restored two granite ornamental capitals, back to its original for the front facade’s columns of the main entranceway.